How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mathers, Review ☆☆☆☆☆

“Where once witchcraft accusations were the norm, bullying has taken its place. And just as during the Trials, it’s not always the usual suspects who get bullied; it can happen to anyone for any reason. But the only way it happens is if the community supports it. Group agreement and group silence are equally as deadly. The moment someone speaks up, it’s possible to stop that cycle. It’s not the easiest thing to do, but greatness is never without risk. And there is nothing greater in the whole world than kindness–kindness to someone being bullied, kindness to a stranger, kindness to an injured animal. Every act counts.”

This quote is taken from the authors note.

What a whirlwind I was just taken through; an amazing one I will add. This story is incredible, haunting, and mysterious in all the right ways.

I personally live about an hour and a half away from Salem. Unfortunately, I have never visited but always want to. I have watched Hocus Pocus more times than I can count and have learned very little about The Witch Trials in school (even though it’s always been an interesting subject to me). This book is intriguing on so many different levels that I’m about to up and leave to take a trip–destination, Salem.

Mathers is correct where–history always repeats itself. It’s a curse, falling back into the same patterns over and over. And the analogy she uses such a treat. It’s a wonderful thing to have an author study, visualize, and create a relatable story, with such an important moral.

There is nothing from the actual story that I want to give away because I want you to read it. I want teenagers to read it. I want the real message to be spread through schools and families. With that, maybe we can all stop the curse.

After all, it’s not just a little hocus-pocus. 😉

Leave a Reply

