The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Author: Carrie Ryan

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Review:

“It’s not about surviving. It should be about love. When you know love… that’s what makes this life worth it. When you live with it every day. Wake up with it, hold on to it during the thunder and after a nightmare. When love is your refuge from the death that surrounds us all and when it fills you so tight that you can’t express it.” He rocks forward and backward as tears stream down his face. Around us the Unconsecrated continue their moaning.


I have been searching high and low for a good zombie apocalypse book. Here, ladies and gentleman, we have a winner! I am one of Tarryn Fisher’s PLN’s so when I completed a really bad apocalypse book I went straight to my girls. There were plenty of recommendations for this book, and since Tarryn herself recommended it, I went for it. AND I’M SO HAPPY I DID! I am a huge Walking Dead fan so I’ve needed to fill a void after I was all caught up. There is no better way to feed a fix than by reading–duh! 





Carrie Ryan offers us a chance to escape in a very post-apocalyptic world. We meet Mary, Jed, Travis, Harry, & Cass who live in a village inside The Forest of Hands and Teeth. All they have known their entire lives, is living among the Unconsecrated. The Sisters and Guardians protecting them….or lying to them? Mary has always been the one filled with stories passed on from her mother and great-grandmothers before her. Always being told about a vast ocean filled with salt. About tall buildings that touch the sky. Could there be such a thing past the forest?

One day there is a breach in the fences, every one running for safety as their drills have always taught them. When they pull the ladders up from the platforms Mary, Travis, Harry, Cass, & Jed are left to flee the village and try to survive the world. With help from fences put in place for a breach such as this, they continue on paths, hoping to lead somewhere hopeful, somewhere Mary has always dreamt of. The ocean. Do they make it?

The trials and hardships that have to be faced during these characters survival, are all those in which we see every apocalyptic story. It doesn’t get old for me, as I’m sure with any zombie lover. I love the different takes on a “new world”, all the imagination that flows from the authors continuing to serve heart-wrenching, page turning storylines to their readers. And I can’t wait to devour (pun intended) the rest of this series!!

Leave a Reply

