Live By Night

Author: Dennis Lehane

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Review:

“Boston, 1926. Prohibition has given rise to an endless network of underground distilleries, speakeasies, gangsters, and corrupt cops. Joe Coughlin, the youngest son of a prominent police captain, has graduated from childhood of petty theft to a career in the pay of the city’s most fearsome mobsters. But life on the dark side carries a heavy price. Beyond money and power, even the threat of prison, one fate seems most likely for a man like Joe: an early death. But until that day, he and his friends are determined to live life to the hilt.”

Wowzah! FIVE+ STARS. I still have the chills from this read. Honestly, my expectations going into this book were severely high because Dennis Lehane is the man who wrote Shutter Island. I have yet to read it (and I stress yet) but I saw the movie. And you know, that movie was more than amazing. Well, I have to say it; my expectations were met. I live for fiction, it’s no secret! And historical fiction is at the top. I love the 20’s more than your average and I live close to Boston; win, win for me!

I would really like tell you more but I–so badly–want to leave this review spoiler-less. As you may know, this is now a major motion picture. Guys. Book are always better, we knnnnowww this. So do yourself a favor before you see it, READ IT!

Leave a Reply

