Big Little Lies

Author: Liane Moriarty

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Review:

“A murder…A tragic accident…Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.”

This book is based around three main characters; Madeline–the funniest, and most superficial of them all. Celeste–the most beautiful woman who’s a bit on edge all the time. And Jane–the young, mysterious one. What do all of these women have in common? They are all mums to kindergarteners and become the best of friends! In a school where gossip and cliques are everything, the last place you’d expect this behavior is from the mums themselves. So, what happens when you put them all in one room with cocktails? Well, Trivia Night happens…
My favorite character by  far would have to be Madeline. She is upright hysterical and although superficial and gossipy, she really is a wonderful, loyal friend. All in all, the characters  (even the secondary ones) were so well written I felt as though I knew each and every one of them. That’s something I feel a lot of writers don’t hit the ball on. I can not imagine keeping track of that many charaters, that many different personalities and making them come to life. Liane Moriarty has done that with this book.
It actually pained me to have to put this book down. Everytime I did, it’s all I could think about. I would be sitting at my desk working and I’d think to myself, “Wow I hope Jane does this.. I hope Celeste will do that”. SERIOUSLY. So you can just invision the look of pure sadness on my face when I turned to the acknowledgements page. I wanted to start it right back up!

This read is for you. And you. And yes, you too. It’s gripping, funny, scary, thrilling, and just so damn good.

Leave a Reply

