The Queen and the Cure

Author: Amy Harmon

Rating: ♡♡♡♡♡

Review:

“There will be a battle, and you will need to protect your heart.

 


Kjell is the son of the late King Zoltev of Jeru, and brother of King Tiras of Jeru. We meet Kjell in book one; The Bird and the Sword and honestly at first, he is not a likeable character. We learn Kjell does not share the same birth mother as Tiras, therefore is not the rightful heir to the throne..but that does not bother Kjell the slightest because in Kjell’s eyes, he’d rather not be a King.

In The Queen and the Cure Kjell is called upon as the Kings Guard to rid the world of Volgar (if any left). Kjell knows battle and is extremely gifted when it comes to a war, but that’s not all he is Gifted with. He has the power of a Healer. What does it mean to be a Healer? With the touch of his hands, he can heal the injured or sick. So when Kjell and his men stumble upon a woman who has fallen laying broken, Kjell makes her a promise in trying to conjure her souls song to heal her. “Come to me and I will try to love you, I will try to love you, if you but come back.” Knowing Kjell and hearing these words brought tears to my eyes. Everyone can be loved, even if–like Kjell–they are guarded and cold. This woman, named Sasha hears his song and is healed from near death. From here, their journey of ups and downs begins..


“You are kind,” she said softly.

“I am not kind,” Kjell scoffed.

“And you are good,” she added.

“I am not good!” He laughed.

“I have never known a man like you.”

“You were a slave in Quondoon. The men you knew were not trying to impress you.”

“Neither are you Captain. Yet I am still impressed.”

My favorite character in this book is BY FAR Kjell. I fell in love with him almost too easily. He’s my kind of book boyfriend, in that extremely tough, bad boy hidden emotions type of guy. But when those emotions are released from him, it’s pure passion, loyalty and the greatest kind of love. I have to be honest, Sasha is lucky I don’t live in Jeru because I would have snatched him up immediately! In this book he becomes exposed.. his compassion is seen by all, and so has his love.


When I discovered Amy Harmon she was writing a lot of inspirational romances. I fell head over heels in love with her writing. When she released a Fantasy I was jumping for joy and to my complete surprise she annihilated the game. Harmon continues to give my heart just what it needs the very moment it needs it. Her writing is always classy and patient, never rushed or lackluster. Her passion alone is one of the reason she will forever have a fan in me! When I complete an Amy Harmon novel, I always say it’s my favorite to date but I know it’s not true. It’s always my favorite in that moment in time because of how fresh the world is to me. Something about this series has gripped me though, so I’m certainly hoping and praying for more.


Leave a Reply

