Maybe in Another Life

Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid

Rating: ♡♡♡♡♡

Review:

“And I was reading about different theories about the universe. I was really taken with this one theory that states that everything that is possible happens. That means that when you flip a quarter, it doesn’t come down head or tails. It comes up heads and tails. Every time you flip a coin and it comes up heads, you merely in the universe where the coin came up heads. There is another version of you out there, created the second the quarter flipped, who saw it come up tails. This is happening every second of every day. The world is splitting further and further into an infinite number of parallel universes where everything that could happen is happening. This is completely plausible, by the way. It’s a legitimate interpretation of quantum mechanics. It’s entirely possible that every time we make a decision, there is a version of us out there somewhere who made a different choice. An infinite number of versions of ourselves are living out the consequences of every single possibility in our lives. What I’m getting at here is that I know there may be universes out there where I made different choices that led me somewhere else, led me to someone else.”

Wow, was all I could say after I finished this book in one sitting. And Wow, will forever be the first word out of my mouth when explaining it to someone who wants to know about it. I wish I knew about this book before but I’m glad I didn’t, because I get to love it now.

Hannah Martin is leading the kind of life that is well, a mess. She has lived in six different cities never being able to call one home. Her family has lived in England with her sister so the only family she truly knows is Gabby’s. Enter Gabby, Hannah’s best friend. She had lived with Gabby upon her family’s departure and they’ve always managed to stay the very best of friends. While Hannah seems to be going through a whirlwind of a breakup she decides going back to her hometown Los Angeles is what she needs. Gabby and her husband Mark would never let Hannah stay any place else but their own. To celebrate Hannah’s first night back in town, they head out to a bar where Hannah runs into her high school boyfriend Ethan. After a full night of catching up Gabby decides she’s ready to go. Does Hannah stay with Ethan? Or does she want to stick to her new idea of becoming a new person, one who takes things more slowly. Well, maybe both happens….

This story is jumps from one Hannah to the next. What??? Yes, you heard me. A take on the decision where Hannah decides to stay with Ethan and the other where she decides, ‘not tonight’. A story challenging our every move and the domino affect of these decisions we make by the minute. Do we all truly only have one soulmate? How much of life and love is fate, and how much is by chance?

“But I wonder how different my world would be if any of those things had happened. you can’t change just one part, can you? When you sit there an wish things had happened differently, you can’t just wish away the bad stuff. You have to think about all the good stuff you might lose, too. Better just to stay in the now and focus on what you can do better in the future.”

When I read books that have a love triangle, or multi-love loop I tend to choose sides. It’s really only natural for me. We are given two different universes to work with. I found myself rooting for one life, but I certainly favored one of Hannah’s universes more than the other. Did anyone else feel this happening too?

As we step back and look at our lives we always find ourselves asking questions. ‘What if I had chosen this instead of that. I wish I could go back and change this. If only this didn’t happen, that would have been perfect‘. We waste our lives away wondering what could have or what can be. The message in this book is to focus on the now at all times. What could’ve happened maybe did happen in another life. What is still to come might happen 10 different ways. But the only one that actually matters to the universe we inhabit now is what we do this very moment.

“It doesn’t matter if we don’t mean to do the things we do. It doesn’t matter if it was an accident or a mistake. It doesn’t even matter if we think this is all up to fate. Because regardless of our destiny, we still have to answer for our actions. We make choices, big and small, every day of our lives, and those choices and consequences. We have to face those consequences head-on, for better or worse. We don’t get to erase them just by saying we didn’t mean to. Fate or not, our lives are still the results of our choices. I’m starting to think that when we don’t own them, we don’t own ourselves.”

I recommend this story for anyone who has interest in multi-universes. For the ones who seek adventure, and uniqueness. Anyone who believes that we exist in every possible decision we’ve ever had to make. Did you love Dark Matter by Blake Crouch? This book it for you. The ideas are similar, but they both leave you with the same feelings. If you thrive off great love stories.. like People magazine said, “It’s not a spoiler to say: love wins.” And it does. Happy endings, no matter the universe!

Leave a Reply

